• Hello.
    In order to download file attachments or view image attachments in full size, you must be registered/logged in and have a level 2 member account.
    No worry, its all for free!
    For more details - click here.

Introduction & Request for help on 4911 hydraulic problems

wannabewelder

Level 2
First name
Wannabewelder
Hi
Just a few lines to introduce myself. I'm a semi-retired electrical engineer with an interest in things mechanical. I'm in partnership with another guy and we own 27 acres of woodland and arable, including a pond, which we try to manage for the benefit of wildlife.
To assist with this we have 1980 Zetor 4911 which we acquired some years ago. Considering its age, the tractor was in surprisingly good condition and has done (almost) everything asked of it. We use it mainly for grass cutting using a Bomford slasher and hedge trimming using a Bomford "Farmtrim" cutter. We're not a commercial operation so everything comes out of our pockets, consequently we try to do things as economically as possible.
Now the problem.
The 3 point linkage on the tractor has never worked, as I believe it should, ever since we've had it but the (relatively) recent acquisition of the hedge trimmer has brought matters to a head.
Symptoms are:
1. It is impossible to get the 3 point to lift when the selector is in the "P" (position control) position. It will only lift in the "M" (Mixed) position. (We've not tried in the "D" (Draft) position).
2. Having set the hedge trimmer to a cutting height sometimes the 3 point will, without warning, start to creep up; which is most annoying.
3. The 3 point position depends on engine revs. If you let the revs. fall off the 3 point sinks.
4. When trying to use the outer circuit to power the hedge trimmer position rams there is a rumbling sound from the hydraulics area and somebody with more knowledge than me has said this is cavitation.